Why study in BAU?

The Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU) was established in 1961 with an area of 1200 acres of land and is located 5 Km south of Mymensingh town and 120 km north from capital city Dhaka. The mandate of BAU is teaching, research and extension.

 The University has six faculties and three institutes with 43 teaching departments. The following undergraduate degrees are offered by different Faculties and Institute of the University:

SL No.

 Name of Faculty/Institute

 Name of Degree


 Faculty of Veterinary Science

 DVM (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine)


 Faculty of Agriculture

 B.Sc. Ag. (Hons.) (Bachelor of Science in Agriculture)


 Faculty of Animal Husbandry

 B.Sc. A.H. (Hons.) (Bachelor of Science in Animal Husbandry)


 Faculty of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology

 B.Sc. Ag. Econ. (Hons.) (Bachelor of Science in Agricultural  Economics)


 Faculty of Agricultural Engineering and Technology

 B.Sc. Ag. Engg. (Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering)

 B.Sc. Food Engg. (Bachelor of Science in Food Engineering)


 Faculty of Fisheries

 B.Sc. Fisheries (Hons.) (Bachelor of Science in Fisheries)


 Interdisciplinary Institute for Food Security (IIFS)

 B.Sc. Food Safety Management (Hons.) (Bachelor of Science in Food Safety Management)

The main task of the university has been to tone up the quality and standard of higher agricultural education and research, and to produce and supply first rate agriculturists, agricultural scientists and technologists for shouldering the responsibilities of agricultural development of the country. It is a residential University mandated for offering higher education and research in agriculture and all its branches.